I still believe in Fairies

A MAIL FROM A FRIEND…


Photo Sharing and Video Hosting at Photobucket

There was a rich merchant who had
4 wives.
He loved the 4th wife the most
and adorned her with rich robes
 and treated her to delicacies.
He took great care of her
and gave her nothing but the best.He also loved the 3rd wife very much.

He’s very proud of her
 and always wanted
 to show off her
to his friends.
However,
the merchant is always in
 great fear
that she might run away
 with some other men.He too, loved his 2nd wife.

 She is a very
considerate person,
always patient and in fact is
the merchant’s confidante.
 Whenever the merchant
faced some problems,
he always turned
to his 2nd wife
 and she would always
help him out
and tide him
 through difficult times.Now,

the merchant’s 1st wife
is a very loyal partner
and has made
great contributions
in maintaining his wealth
 and business
as well as taking care of the
household.
 However,
the merchant did not love
 the first wife
and although
she loved him deeply,
 he hardly took notice of her.One day,

 the merchant fell ill.
 Before long,
he knew
that he was going to die soon.
 He thought of his luxurious life
 and told himself,
“Now I have 4 wives with me.
 But when I die, I’ll be alone.
How lonely I’ll be!”Thus, he asked the 4th wife,

“I loved you most,
endowed you
 with the finest clothing
and showered great care
over you.
 Now that I’m dying,
will you follow me
and keep me company?”
“No way!”
 replied the 4th wife
and she walked away
without another word.The answer

cut like a sharp knife
right into the merchant’s heart.
The sad merchant
 then asked the 3rd wife,
“I have loved you
so much for all my life.
Now that I’m dying,
 will you follow me
and keep me company?”
“No!” replied the 3rd wife.
 “Life is so good over here!
 I’m going to remarry
 when you die!
” The merchant’s heart sank
and turned cold.He then asked the 2nd wife,

“I always turned to you
 for help
 and you’ve
always helped me out.
 Now I need your help again.
 When I die,
will you follow me
and keep me company?”
 “I’m sorry,
 I can’t help you out this time!”
 replied the 2nd wife.
 “At the very most,
 I can only
send you to your grave.
” The answer
 came like a bolt of thunder
and the merchant was
 devastated.Then a voice called out :

“I’ll leave with you.
I’ll follow you
 no matter where you go.
” The merchant looked up
 and there was his first wife.
 She was so skinny,
 almost like she suffered from
 malnutrition.
 Greatly grieved,
 the merchant said,
“I should have taken much
 better care
 of you while I could have !”Actually,

 we all have 4 wives in our livesa. The 4th wife is our body.

No matter how much time
and effort
 we lavish in making it look good,
it’ll leave us when we die.b. Our 3rd wife ?

 Our possessions,
 status and wealth.
 When we die,
 they all go to others.c. The 2nd wife

 is our family and friends.
 No matter
how close they had been
 there for us when we’re alive,
the furthest they can stay
by us is up to the grave.d. The 1st wife is in fact our soul,

 often neglected
in our pursuit of material,
 wealth and sensual pleasure. 

 

Guess what?

It is actually the only thing

that follows us wherever we go.

Perhaps it’s a good idea

to cultivate and strengthen

it now

rather than to wait until

we’re on our deathbed to lament

 

 

3 responses

  1. A. Good FrienD.

    I love your post here Ilse. I was so happy to see you enjoyed my positive affirmations blog. Positive affirmation saved my life and helped me save the life of someone else I love very dearly as well. I believe in affirming positively, and I am working on two web sites of nothing but positive affirmations. Hopefully they will be up and running soon. Take Care Dear Friend. God Bless You.

    December 3, 2007 at 08:04

  2. n

    I love the story it makes you think so much.  There are a few things to learn from this one for sure.  I hope you are ok.  I will get in touch with you  dear, luvya, Venus

    December 3, 2007 at 18:32

  3. michelle

    Hello Ilse
    How are you???
    I was just thinking of you
    So thought i would drop by and send some love your way
    Hope this finds you happy and well
    Take care
    My love and hugs for you
    Shelly xxxxx

    December 3, 2007 at 18:36

Leave a Reply

