I still believe in Fairies

QUEST FOR GOD


his holiness

Quest For God
O’ver hill and dale

 and mountain range,
In temple,

church,

 and mosque,
In Vedas,

Bible,

Al Koran
I had searched

 for Thee in vain.

Like a child

in the wildest forest lost
I have cried

and cried alone,
“Where art Thou gone,

my God,

my Lord?
The echo answered,

 “gone.”

And days and nights

 and years then passed
A fire was in the brain,
I knew not when

 day changed in night
The heart seemed

 rent in twain.
I laid me down

on Ganges’s shore,
Exposed to sun and rain;
With burning tears

 I laid the dust
And wailed with waters’

 roar.

I called on

all the holy names
Of every clime

 and creed.
“Show me the way,

 in mercy, ye
Great ones

 who have reached the goal.”

Years then passed

 in bitter cry,
Each moment

seemed an age,
Till one day midst

my cries and groans
Some one seemed calling me.

A gentle soft

 and soothing voice
That said ‘my child’

 ‘my child’,
That seemed to thrill

in unison
With all

the chords of my soul.

I stood on my feet

and tried to find
The place

 the voice came from;
I searched

 and searched

and turned to see
Round me,

 before,

 behind,
Again,

 again it seemed to speak
The voice divine to me.
In rapture

 all my soul was hushed,
Entranced,

 enthralled in bliss.

A flash illumined

all my soul;
The heart of my heart

opened wide.
O joy,

 O bliss,

 what do I find!
My Lord,

 my Lord you are here
And you are here,

 my Lord,

 my all!

And I was searching

thee –
From all eternity

 you were there
Enthroned in majesty!
From that day forth,

wherever I roam,
I feel Him standing by
O’ver hill and dale,

 high mount and vale,
Far far away and high.

The moon’s soft light,

 the stars so bright,
The glorious orb of day,
He shines in them;

 His beauty – might –
Reflected lights are they.
The majestic morn,

 the melting eve,
The boundless

billowing sea,
In nature’s beauty,

 songs of birds,
I see through them –

it is He.

When dire calamity

 seizes me,
The heart seems weak

and faint,
All nature seems to crush

 me down,
With laws

 that never bend.
Meseems I hear

Thee whispering sweet
My Lord,

“I am near”,

“I am near”.
My heart gets strong.

With thee, my Lord,
A thousand deaths

 no fear.
Thou speakest

in the mother’s lay
Thou shuts the babies eye,
When innocent children

 laugh and play,
I see Thee standing by.

When holy friendship

 shakes the hand,
He stands between

 them too;
He pours the nectar

in mother’s kiss
And the baby’s sweet

“mama”.
Thou wert my God

 with prophets old,
All creeds do come from

Thee,
Everyone
Sing Thee in Harmony.

“Thou art,”

Thou art”

 the Soul of souls
In the rushing stream of life.
“Om tat sat om.

” Thou art my God,
My Lord,

 I am thine,

I am thine.

3 responses

  1. Al's

    Absolutely beautiful darling.  Thank you for being here for me today.  You are truly a friend to count on.
    Love,
    Al

    May 12, 2008 at 03:57

  2. Sininen

    In this world many are wondering who can heal the pain, who can understand the terrible things have done, who have mercy. Thank God we know it <3<3<3

    May 12, 2008 at 04:36

  3. Angel eyes

    So amazing the search to findGod tohide inside and  deneatn the shelter of his wings  angel eyes

    May 12, 2008 at 10:46

Leave a Reply

